An artistic oracle. Meet fellow creators and swap advice. Every skill you can imagine is on show.
Topic locked

How do I make a background transparant in Photoshop?

Wed Apr 16, 2008 5:38 pm

I'm trying to make the background of a button for my gallery transparant, but if I use the magic wand tool it distorts the ouline of my image.

Normal Image:

Magic want tool

Wasn't there also another way to make the background transparant? I thought you could select a colour and then everything of that colour would get transparant?

I'm a novice when it comes to Photoshop so any help is appreciated :)

Re: How do I make a background transparant in Photoshop?

Wed Apr 16, 2008 5:46 pm

I don't know about PhotoShop, but in my program (PhotoFiltre):

1. Click area to be transparent with magic wand.
2. Go to Image > Automatic Transparency > Inside Selection.

Maybe there's something similar for PS?

Wed Apr 16, 2008 6:11 pm

Helena wrote:I don't know about PhotoShop, but in my program (PhotoFiltre):

1. Click area to be transparent with magic wand.
2. Go to Image > Automatic Transparency > Inside Selection.

Maybe there's something similar for PS?

Thanks for the help. I don't think there is something like that in Photoshop though, at least not that I can find. :D

Edit: I figured out a way around it. :)

Mon Jun 23, 2008 2:48 pm

In photoshop, they have an extract tool in the filter menu.

If you've got a lot of patience to sit and practice, then you'll get the hang of it, but what I'd do (even though I can't see the pics you've got on photobucket), is I'd copy it over to a new file that has the background transparent on the outset (Set it to transparent when you make a new document), then I'd use the different brushes for the eraser to take it out.

Change brushes by right clicking on the picture, then selecting a different brush, click on the size and off you go.

Also, you can change the opacity up the top of the screen to be heavier erase or lighter.