Pink Poogle Toy Forum

The official community of Pink Poogle Toy
Main Site
NeoDex
It is currently Fri Nov 22, 2024 9:00 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Need help SOON! (Please read)
PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2005 3:13 am 
Honorary Member
Honorary Member
User avatar

Posts: 2476
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 9:18 pm
I want to make a site that will have two drop down menus: one in which you choose your internet connection type, and the other in which you choose your screen resolution, then click "go". Depending on the combination of answers, I would like it to take the user to a version of my site that is appropriate for their speed and screen size.

How would I do this?


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2005 4:42 am 
PPT Trainee
PPT Trainee
User avatar

Posts: 500
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 1:02 pm
Location: The Internet
Well, I'm no expert on this, and so I can't give you any actual coding, but I'd do a PHP or JavaScript thing. Something like:

If firstdropdownbox.value = 56k && seconddropdownbox.value = 600x800 {
(Go to 56k 600x800 page)
}
elseif firstdropdownbox.value = 300k && seconddropdownbox.value = 1024x768 {
(Go to 300k 1024x768 page)
}


But I have no idea how to put that into action, or even if that's the best way to go. It would be quite a bit of code to write for all of the options.


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2005 1:46 pm 
PPT Toddler
PPT Toddler
User avatar

Posts: 162
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 11:14 pm
Location: Sweden
Or don't code in that way that a choice is needed. Bad but very good advice, at the same time :P What I mean is that if you code in a smart way, you shouldn't need two versions of the page, depending on screen resolution etc.


http://ibisaeg.mine.nu
<silja rox my sox>... somewhat :P


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2005 5:24 pm 
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Posts: 3739
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 5:58 pm
Location: Idiotville
You can do dropdown menus. They're actually kind of easy to get working. You'll actually need four different pages (56k, 800x600; 56k 1024x786; 300k 800x600, and 300k 1024x768).

I'm not quite sure how to do the form submit line, but I'm sure there's somebody else here who can.


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2005 8:00 pm 
Beyond Godly
Beyond Godly
User avatar

Posts: 3703
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 10:11 pm
Location: 51°23' 0°30
http://paul.lost-thoughts.net/entry.html


Code:
<html>
<head>
</head>
<body><form name="form1">
    <select name="compability" onChange="window.open(this.options[this.selectedIndex].value)">
<option value="http://yourwebsite.com/mac.1024x768.300k.html">Macintosh: 1024x768: 56k</option>
<option value="http://yourwebsite.com/mac.1024x768.56k.html">Macintosh: 1024x768: 56k</option>
<option value="http://yourwebsite.com/mac.800x600.300k.html">Macintosh: 800x600: 300k</option>
<option value="http://yourwebsite.com/mac.1024x768.56k.html">Macintosh: 800x600: 56k</option>
<option value="http://yourwebsite.com/mac.1024x768.300k.html">Windows: 1024x768: 300k</option>
<option value="http://yourwebsite.com/mac.1024x768.56k.html">Windows: 1024x768: 56k</option>
<option value="http://yourwebsite.com/mac.800x600.300k.html">Windows: 800x600: 300k</option>
<option value="http://yourwebsite.com/mac.1024x768.56k.html">Windows: 800x600: 56k</option>
      </select>
</body>
</form></html>


A rather blunt coding of it. I also added a basic OS option, but this could be replaced with IE & Firefox, seeing as they seem to be the most popular browsers at the moment.

You could also keep your website as image-free as possible, and this would make the need of having internet connection speed choice uneccessary. (It would load relatively quickly in both).

Going back to operating systems, making sure it's compatible in Internet Explorer, Firefox (and maybe Safari) in the one go would get rid of the option of OS, thus making the list neater and smaller, so it'd really be just monitor resolution.

Code:
<option value="http://yourwebsite.com/1024x768.html">1024x768</option>
<option value="http://yourwebsite.com/800x600.html">800x600</option>


Image
kudos sasha+gregory // PPT's Unofficial President


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 7:45 pm 
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Posts: 3739
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 5:58 pm
Location: Idiotville
You can also go all javascript crazy (found this one a few minutes ago...behind schedule...)
http://www.htmlcodetutorial.com/linking ... p_114.html


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 2:28 pm 
Beyond Godly
Beyond Godly
User avatar

Posts: 3703
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 10:11 pm
Location: 51°23' 0°30
shapu wrote:
You can also go all javascript crazy (found this one a few minutes ago...behind schedule...)
http://www.htmlcodetutorial.com/linking ... p_114.html



I wouldn't advise that though, seeing as some browsers sometimes aren't fully javascript compatible.


Image
kudos sasha+gregory // PPT's Unofficial President


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 3:02 pm 
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Posts: 3739
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 5:58 pm
Location: Idiotville
Paul wrote:
shapu wrote:
You can also go all javascript crazy (found this one a few minutes ago...behind schedule...)
http://www.htmlcodetutorial.com/linking ... p_114.html



I wouldn't advise that though, seeing as some browsers sometimes aren't fully javascript compatible.


You can always try this:
Code:
<noscript>
This page requires javascript to work.
</noscript>


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 9:31 pm 
Beyond Godly
Beyond Godly
User avatar

Posts: 3703
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 10:11 pm
Location: 51°23' 0°30
shapu wrote:
Paul wrote:
shapu wrote:
You can also go all javascript crazy (found this one a few minutes ago...behind schedule...)
http://www.htmlcodetutorial.com/linking ... p_114.html



I wouldn't advise that though, seeing as some browsers sometimes aren't fully javascript compatible.


You can always try this:
Code:
<noscript>
This page requires javascript to work.
</noscript>


Fiddelysquat wants a website that's as compatible as possible. Going crazy with javascript. A no no.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 10:06 pm 
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Posts: 3739
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 5:58 pm
Location: Idiotville
Wait - wouldn't it just be quicker to do four hyperlinks? I recognize that you want dropdown menus, but you could always do the "Welcome! Please choose your screen resolution and connection speed below!" in an aesthetically-pleasing way.


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 10:16 pm 
Beyond Godly
Beyond Godly
User avatar

Posts: 3703
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 10:11 pm
Location: 51°23' 0°30
shapu wrote:
Wait - wouldn't it just be quicker to do four hyperlinks? I recognize that you want dropdown menus, but you could always do the "Welcome! Please choose your screen resolution and connection speed below!" in an aesthetically-pleasing way.


Heh, yeah. But she said drop downs, and it'd still have to be "1024x768: 56k", "1024x768:300k" and so on.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group